Pity- Party of 1: Praise God

Well, my almost brother-in-law officially has his Visa! In less than 24 hours he got approved and can pick it up tomorrow. That means that he will be on a plane bound for Little Rock THIS SATURDAY!!

For those of you that haven’t been following the Visa Saga of 2015- it’s been one for the record books. Bless their hearts. Tom and Molly (Tyler’s sister and her fiancé) had literally gotten to the point that his status was in Gods hands. They had been told time and time again that they should just postpone their wedding, but when you have people coming from all over the world- that’s not really possible.  Go check out their blog at themajs.com and read their story. It’s amazing.

Today my dad would’ve been 51. It’s been a ridiculously hard day. For one, empathy is definitely not my strong suit. It’s really hard for me to try to connect with people when I don’t think what they’re going through is that bad. (That sounds absolutely terrible, but it’s true). I have the issue of judging people’s problems against my own. Now don’t get me wrong, I recognize that everyone has their own hurdles and struggles, but I recognize that in my head. In my heart, let’s just say I don’t have time for nonsense.

I’m telling you this not with the hopes that you won’t tell me your problems, but with the hopes that you will. I’m trying to better empathize with people and one of the best ways to do it is by practicing.

Anywho, I’m saying all of this to say that today has been really hard for me. I was having a huge pity party of 1. I miss my dad. I wish he could’ve been here today to celebrate his 51st birthday with snickers ice cream and me weaseling out of rubbing his back. My human standards I don’t think it was fair that he died so early. I don’t think it was fair that he never got to see my sister or I walk down the aisle and marry men that I think he would be proud to call his sons. I don’t think it’s fair.

And then in the middle of my pity party, I get the text from my sister-in-law that Toms paperwork got approved and I remember how good God is. I had been praying like crazy that God would have his hand in this immigration. And right smack dab in the middle of my full-on cry fest God lets me know that my prayer had been answered. We talked about Gods will tonight at ABS and no matter how unfair I think loosing my dad was, I have to recognize that it was/is a big part of Gods will. Because of my dads death, God has been glorified. Dad was even praising him from his deathbed. I pray that God gets further glory and that people come to know Christ because of the faith that my dad had, but that’s something I may not know this side of Heaven. Some of you are probably thinking, “well, couldn’t God have just healed your dad and answered that prayer? It seems like a way bigger thing than one persons fiancé visa.” Sure, God could have healed my dad. And he did. God granted my dad the greatest blessing of all and that was returning to his redeemed state. My dad is in a place where he can see the glory of God all the time. How amazing is that??

So today, instead of focusing on how sad I am, I am reminding to focus on how good God is. Tom’s visa was a direct answer to my prayer and I am so thankful God saw fit to answer this prayer on my dads birthday. I can think of no better gift for my dad than to have me get smacked right in the face with my own pity party. (He never did like crying anyway). 😉

And now all that’s left to say is “The British are coming!” Praise God!!

2 thoughts on “Pity- Party of 1: Praise God

  1. Amanda this was beautifully written! So thankful that you are a part of our family…and that you share from your heart! The good thing about God allowing us to have a pity party is that he won’t let us stay there long!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Do I really? | thebindingthread

Leave a Reply

