Where there’s a will, there’s a way

I’ve struggled most of my adult life with not knowing the future. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to go all psychic on you, but I would love a big neon sign from God telling me which direction I should go.

I recently listened to a podcast on idisciple (which is an awesome tool btw) that talked about how to discern God’s will in your life. First things first though, there is no magic formula that you just know what God’s will is. Our minds don’t work like that. Since God is infinite, he can see every thread from the past, present, and future and since we are finite we can only see the present and the past (even though the past is usually warped by our minds).

Anyway,  the point this man made was that God’s ultimate goal is to be glorified. Some of you are probably thinking “duh” while others are probably thinking “conceited much?”

But really, think about the bible stories we all know and love. Why was David “a man after God’s own heart”? Because he glorified God continuously! Even in his repentance he glorified God. Adam and Eve were created to glorify God. Creation glorifies God.

God all throughout Jesus’ time on Earth kept pointing people to his son, in fact that’s the only way to know God! But Jesus kept glorifying God. Through every miracle, every temptation, every joy, and every pain Jesus glorified God. It’s like a perfect continuous circle. If you start at the top with God, he points you to Jesus at the bottom. If you start with Jesus, he points you to God at the top and so on and so on.

Now how does this relate to our lives? Well, I’ve come to realize that everything you go through in life is preparing you for God’s will. And once you accept Jesus and invite him into your life, he starts aligning you to God’s will. I definitely think it takes some work on our parts though and the first step in my opinion is relinquishing yourself to honor God and to follow him.

I’m not just talking about talking the talk either. To truly relinquish yourself is work. How do you do that? By asking God for help and then by listening. That nudge you feel every now and then that you tend to ignore? Yea, start listening to it.

After you relinquish yourself, start looking for opportunities to glorify God!

As an example, here’s a little bit about my life and a few of the threads that I have seen so far:

  • Poultry Science Degree (in less than a month!!)
  • Ambassador for Bumpers College
  • Active in a Professional Ag Sorority
  • Lost my dad when I was 19

Now how in the world do these things fit together? They have all prepared me to serve and glorify God through the ABS ministry at UofA. My main duties will be leadership training, retention, and discipleship with our girls. Can a POSC degree really prepare me for ministry?

Well, because of my degree in Poultry Science, I am graduating debt free and with a very good knowledge of the scientific world. My degree has allowed me to get internships with several different companies and make contacts with high ups in the industry. In my internships I have met other believers and even gotten chances to witness! The Ambassadors have given me leadership skills and organization. And guess what? A LOT of chances to talk about God and to witness to students, faculty, staff, and more. Without ever saying I’m a christian, I have been given a plethora of opportunities to point people to God. My sorority has given me leadership training and it and the ambassadors has given me the knowledge to work with college students and meet them on their level (maybe because I am a college student and am on their level, but still). And finally, loosing my dad provided this sheltered little good girl a wake up call. A slap in the face that made me reexamine my faith and realize that I can’t depend on my parent’s faith anymore. It’s time I took charge! (Can I just say go God! I couldn’t imagine these things working together in a million years, but God knew the end game [can I really use end game when I’m not even 22 yet? How about mid-game instead] and has been preparing me for it my entire life.)

Am I really saying that loosing my dad is glorifying to God? YOU BET I AM! Before we go on let me make one thing perfectly clear. Seeing my dad die was one of the hardest things I have ever gone through. I still have days where I come home, curl up in a ball and cry because I miss him so much. BUT, I know without a shadow of a doubt that things are happening in people’s lives that are directly correlated to my dad’s death. Friendships have been built, hearts have been strengthened, questions have been asked, and above all, I have seen people watch the way we have dealt with this death. I no longer fear death because I have seen first hand how a believer should greet death. I will praise my God from now until eternity for giving me 19 years with my dad, but to see how my dad finished his race, how he fought the good fight, and to see him grow in faith and into a relationship with the one true God- that is what I will continuously glorify God for. God is good, even when the world is bad. God is good, even when life is bad. God is good, even when circumstances are bad.

So how do we know when we’re in God’s will? If you are truly a christian, I believe that Jesus will be continuously pushing you towards God will. Will we mess up? Sure we will. Will we try to run? Of course we will. Will he give up on us? No way.

There will never be a neon sign saying “This way to be in God’s will!!” but I’m ok with that. I usually don’t even get the still small voice. Instead what I get is the knowledge that God longs to be glorified. His plan is for us to glorify Him. As long as we are aware of our position and how it glorifies God, continuously seek his word (by reading it), and pray, we will be in his will.

Leave a Reply

